Will County Clerk to take over seven Aurora precincts


Will County Clerk to take over seven Aurora precincts

Joliet, IL. (July 24, 2018) – On March 20, 2018, the residents of Aurora voted to dissolve the Aurora Election Commission.  This means Aurora residents who live in Will County now have a new Election Authority.   “We are going to make this transition as seamless as possible,” says Will County Clerk Nancy Schultz Voots.  According to Voots, “All Aurora residents who were registered with the Aurora Election Commission will be receiving voters cards as well as our Voter Information Guide providing them with their early voting location, polling place on Election Day, and other important information for the November 6, 2018 General Election.”

On July 19, the Will County Board approved the proposal to condense the current seven precincts Will County will be taking over into four.  “We decided to consolidate these seven precincts into four to reduce the cost of purchasing new equipment and other election supplies,” County Clerk Voots explains.

The four new precincts will be included into Wheatland Township.  Voting on Election Day will now take place at New Song Church, 2858 Hafenrichter Rd, Aurora for precincts Wheatland 31, 32, and 33 and at Crossroads Church, 3003 S. Eola Rd, Aurora for precinct Wheatland 34.  Early voting, which includes Aurora residents, will be available at Wheatland Township, 4332 Tower Court in Naperville starting Monday, October 22.  Aurora residents can now request Vote by Mail ballots by visiting thewillcountyclerk.com and clicking on the Vote by Mail Quick Link.

For more election information visit thewillcountyclerk.com or like our Facebook page.