WHO NEEDS TO REGISTER
Illinois law requires that individuals conducting or transacting a business under any name other than the real names of the owners must file an Assumed Name Certificate with the County Clerk in the county in which the business is located. This requirement includes registration for sole proprietorships and general partnerships.
- If the business will be incorporated, a corporation, a Non-Profit Organization or an LLC, you must file with the Illinois Secretary of State.
- Contact the city or village in which the business is located for local licensing requirements.
- Special Use Permits may be required for home based businesses in Will County. Contact the Will County Building and Zoning Department at www.willcountylanduse.com.
- General contractors and sub-contractors doing construction work in un-incorporated areas of Will County must be registered with the Will County Building Department. To view information about the Contractor Registration application click here.
- All plumbers must be licensed with the State of Illinois.
- Massage Therapists – Unincorporated Will County ONLY – Refer them to the state for their license (217) 782-9520 -or- (217) 785-0800. They also need to review the Will County Code of Ordinances: Chapter 118: Bath Houses and Massage Parlors.
- Women owned, minority owned businesses – getting a WBE Certification Number, call (312) 814-4190.
- Food or Daycare businesses will need to contact the Will County Health Department for inspections.
- Liquor and Door-to-Door Solicitor’s Licenses contact the Will County Executive’s Office.
HOW TO FILE
– complete a Certificate of Registration of Assumed Business Name Notice
– file the Certificate with the Will County Clerk’s Office along with a $5.00 filing fee
– publish the Certificate in a general circulation Will County newspaper (the first of three notices must be published within 15 days of the file stamp)
– make sure the newspaper submitted a Certificate of Publication to the Will County Clerk within 50 days from the date of filing
– business owner is issued the Certificate of Ownership of Business and Receipt of Publication
- Owner home and/or Business Address Change
- Owner Name Change (legal name change of owner)
- Owner Addition (anyone who wishes to be added to an Assumed Business name)
- Assumed Business Name CANNOT be changed (if an owner wishes to change the Assumed Business name the owner must start the process from the beginning)
Important information: Multiple changes and/or additions on the same date can be duly acknowledged on the same certificate for the same fee of $5.00.
Publication Requirements: Any Certificate of Change and/or Addition notice must be published in the same manner as provided for the original certificate. A file stamped copy of the Certificate of Change and/or Addition notice will be given to the owner to publish such notice.
CANCEL MY BUSINESS OR WITHDRAWAL OF NAME FROM THE BUSINESS
The Supplementary Certificate of Cancellation or Withdrawal of Name form can derive from one or more of the following situations:
- Cancellation of whole ownership
- Withdrawal of name *Must be published if it effectuates change or transfer of 25% or more of total ownership*
Fee: $1.50 fee is required to file a Supplementary Certificate Notice.
Publication Requirements: If the change effectuates change or transfer of 25% or more of total ownership, a notice must be published in the same manner as provided for the original certificate. A file stamped copy of the Supplementary Certificate notice will be given to the owner to publish such notice.